Home » Judges Corner

Judges Information Corner

Jones Law Firm, PC and April D. Jones Attorney at Law, regularly practices family law throughout the Denver Metro Area including Arapahoe, Denver, Douglas, Jefferson and Adams counties. Because of our daily and ongoing experience practicing family law, we are familiar with Judges’ procedures and rules in the various counties and court rooms. Although Jones Law Firm, PC cannot guarantee certain results, having an experienced practitioner guide you through the divorce process is often a crucial component to success. Jones Law Firm, PC appears before the Judges listed below.

Listed below by county are District Court Family Law Judges. Biographical information is from the Court website and is listed in cases where the court has provided the information.

Douglas County District Court
000 Justice Way Castle Rock, CO 80109

Angela Arkin

18th Judicial District Judge
Division: 4

Angela R. Arkin has been a District Court Judge in the 18th Judicial District since September, 2002. Judge Arkin is a 1983 graduate of Emory Law School, and is licensed in Colorado, Georgia and the District of Columbia. She began her judicial career in August 2000 by serving two years as a District Court Magistrate in Arapahoe County with a domestic and juvenile docket. She is currently handling a 100% domestic docket in Douglas County. Prior to her current assignment, Judge Arkin has served as a District Judge in all four counties in the District, with mixed dockets including criminal, civil, probate, mental health, juvenile and domestic cases.

Christopher C. Cross

18th District Court Judge
Division: 6

Judge Cross received his law degree from the University of Denver Law School in 1979 after earning an undergraduate degree in 1974 from Denison University in Granville, Ohio. He served almost five years as a Denver Deputy District Attorney from 1979 through 1983, followed by 13 years in private practice. He was appointed as a county court judge in August, 1997 and as a district court judge in January, 2009. Judge Cross is active as a volunteer in the community and served as the President of the Arapahoe County Bar Association in 2006.

Theresa M. Slade
Douglas County District Court

18th District Court Magistrate
Division: 7

Beth Elliott Dumler –
Douglas County District Court

18th District Juvenile Court Magistrate
Division: 2

Arapahoe County District Court

7325 S. Potomac Street
Centennial, CO 80112

F. Stephen Collins

18th Judicial District Judge
Division: 12

Judge Collins is a native of Arapahoe County. After graduating from Cherry Creek High School in 1972 he obtained a business degree from the University of Colorado (Boulder) in 1976 and then obtained his law degree from the University of California, Hastings College of the Law, in 1979. Judge Collins returned to Colorado in 1980 after having clerked for Justice Edmond Burke of the Supreme Court of Alaska. Judge Collins practiced in Denver for 30 years, specializing in commercial litigation, before being appointed as a District Court Judge, effective February 1, 2011. Judge Collins has been very active in teaching and community service. He has served on the faculty of the Rocky Mountain Regional program of the National Institute of Trial Advocacy every year since 1992 and has taught a variety of courses (sales, commercial paper and secured transactions) as an adjunct professor at the University of Denver, Sturm College of Law.

Elizabeth A. Weishaupl

18th Judicial District Judge

Division: 26 720-568-4892

Judge Elizabeth A. Weishaupl is a third generation native Coloradan. She grew up in Littleton, Colorado and is a graduate of Littleton High School. She attended the University of Denver and received a Bachelor of Music and Bachelor of Arts Degree in History. She attained her Juris Doctorate from the University of Denver College of Law. Judge Weishaupl was in private practice, an Assistant Attorney General for the State of Colorado, a First Assistant Attorney General for the State of Colorado, and an Assistant United States Attorney for the District of Colorado prior to taking the bench in July of 2008. She has taught for the National Institute for Trial Advocacy, the National Advocacy Center, the University of Denver College of Law, and the Community College of Aurora. She is currently a District Court Judge for the 18th Judicial District located in the Arapahoe County Justice Center.

Michelle A. Amico

18th Judicial District Judge
Division: 14

Kathie Fliss –
Arapahoe County District Court

18th District Court Truancy Magistrate
Division: 307

Kathleen Janksi –
Arapahoe County District Court

18th District Court Magistrate
Division: 11

Christina Apostoli

18th District Court Magistrate

Division: 25 720-568-4886

Ms. Apostoli graduated from Colorado State University with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Social Sciences. She received her law degree from Oklahoma City University. While in Oklahoma, Ms. Apostoli worked as a Deputy Public Defender. After graduation from law school, she moved to Texas and worked as a staff attorney at Texas Legal Services. Upon her return to Colorado in 2002, Ms. Apostoli served as a Deputy District Attorney for the 18th Judicial District for eight years. In 2010, Ms. Apostoli was appointed as a Magistrate for the 17th Judicial District (Adams & Broomfield counties) and in October of 2011 accepted an appointment in the 18th Judicial District. She has served as a Magistrate since February of 2010 handling traffic, criminal, civil and domestic matters.

M. Edward Burns

18th District Court Child Support Magistrate

Division: 406 303-649-6217

To find more Judges and Magistrates in other counties visit the Colorado State Judicial Branch’s website.


The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Our team includes attorneys licensed to practice in multiple states including April D. Jones in California, Patrick G. Barkman in Texas, the Cherokee Nation, the Northern District of Texas, and the District of Colorado (United States Court of Appeals 10th and 5th Circuit).